FTP: 530 User <xxx> cannot log in, home directory inaccessible.

Hi,

I am new to VPS so please bear with me. I have set up an FTP server with the built-in IIS FTP service. Whenever I log in, I get the following error message:

FTP: 530 User xxx cannot log in, home directory inaccessible.

I have checked the FTP home directory and made sure the user has permissions but without success. I have also tried different users including administrator but that didn't work either.

Does anybody have experience with this issue?

Thanks

Hans

Did you make a virtual directory in the default FTP site?

We can also help you in more detail on a ticket, you have sent one befor ethe vps was ready, feel free to use it for other support :)

Stephen,
Thanks for the response. Creating a virtual directory didn't help but I decided to reinstall the FTP service and try again with the default settings. And now I can log in :)

But there is another problem: When I enter "ls" to get a directory listing, after about one minute the server will return "Connection closed by remote host". A Google search showed that this is most likely related to a router/NAT/firewall problem. My machine is behind a router but I have never had any problems to connect to my shared hosting (here at Jodohost) FTP account. That makes me think it's a server problem.

Any thoughts? I can submit a ticket if you prefer but I think other people will run into the same problem and they might benefit from this thread.

Hans

I have run the script on the server but still the same result when I type "ls": Connection closed by remote host

I have checked the firewall settings and the ports from 5000-5500 are open.

It would be best to take this to ticke tto find what the issue is, this can be helpful for someone as it is now, but I don't know the answer without further review.

Stephen,