Newbie Cold Fusion Help

jevons

Guppy
Hey guys, I have been using Cold Fusion for about 3 weeks now, and I love it. My job has basically demanded my knowledge of cold fusion, and I now have fallen in love, but I still am very new at it. This is really the first coding language I have learned prior to HTML, but I am getting the hang of it.

I work as a intern web developer in the health care field, and I am working on creating an application that will allow me to take in web requests online from different departments in the hospital and then in turn have a backend that will manage my projects by date, completion, progress, etc. So far I am about 1/2 done with the project. But I need some help from you guys.

The user interface is located on my test site right now at http://24.11.233.107/request/index.cfm Feel free to fill out the form to see what it does. The admin section is located at http://24.11.233.107/request/admin/index.cfm I coded a security login with the user: test pass: test When you login you will see some information that links to a details page for each project etc. I am trying to get the area up top in the Project Details box ( where it says, "Today's date is 6/26/04. There have been 15 total requests from departments.") to display the number of departments that have submitted a project. I cant seem to get the query. If anyone knows of a cfoutput attribute, or some other way of displaying this without a query please let me know.

Also if you could critique my first project, I would love some feedback. Thank you! :)

Although there are alot of cold fusion techies at this forum, I'd also recommend sitepointforums.com and forums.devshed.com as mediums to ask your questions. They were very helpful to me when I was learning a few languages

here is one of a couple ways you could do

1.) Query

<cfquery name="getDept" datasource="#datasource#">
SELECT DISTINCT Department
FROM RequestTable
</cfquery>

<cfoutput>