upsizing from Access

snooper

Perch
hi guys

i have an Access DB that has grown quite a bit, and i have a feeling that its time to upsize it to a MS SQL db.
the thing is that i have never worked with MSSQL before and i need a hand with the steps to be taken.
i dont have SQL or enterprise installed so i dont know what the procedure is.

i'm using an extension of an old WWG forum (i think round 6.1) and i know it can somehow be used for MSSQL as well, but i'm not sure if there are any changes beyond the common.asp that have to be made. so if anyone has anything to add on this, that will be an extra bonus.

MANY THANKS!
Snooper

Did you check to see if there is a tool they provide to upgrade.

In Access there is a toold to upsize but there are some slight differences and it might be better to use a tool that is provided by the vendor of the application so that you have less work to do.

Just a thought.

thanks Yorri.
they dont have a tool (and since they changed their forum, the support really sucks).

but the questions is something i want to look into, regardless of this particular app. ie: whats changes would have to be made in the asp code etc.... in addition to the actual upsize process.

thanks

Well the biggest differences you will face are the differences in data types. I wouldn't want to have to change the forums asp code to match it.

Honestly I would probably go with the sql version of the same code so that you wouldn't have to deal with all the changes. The problem from there would be migrating the data. I find it very odd that there isn't a migration tool. I thought I did see one for wwf but it may have been created by someone else but it would have been on their forums that I found this.

yep, there was one that was created by someone else, but it only works for 6.34 i think ad not previous versions. :(

generally there are not too many changes you have to make.