Newbie in Cold Fusion distress

wyzgy

Guppy
Hi there all, I'm new to the forum not so new to jodohost though. I have used them off on on for a while now for different sites and love em'. Way to go guys !

Anyway I just started learning cold fusion mx and downloaded the recordstore tutorial from macromedia. I was able to get it to run locally and I am now trying to deploy it. I have no idea what I am doing, but I'll tell you what I have done so far. I requested the dns be added for my access database located at clickonwebsites.com/recordstore.mdb . I also requested parent addresses be enable then I set odbc settings to look like this my settings .

I don't know what to do from here. I am confused to about the dns name in the settings. I used dereamweavermx to design the pages and am not sure if I need to change the code to reflect the settings on jodohost. Anyway, here's where I am stuck. Also you can view this page to see the error I am getting. Thanks in advance for sharing the knowledge !

use the full and exact DSN name you asked to be created. That error is appearing because it simply can't locate that DSN on the system

Hi Yash, Thanks for your help.

I changed the dsn name to username-recordstore . When I asked for the dsn support asked me where the db was and I gave them this clickonwebsites.com/recordstore.mdb should the dns name be username-clickonwebsites.com/recordstore.mdb ?

Also, in the odbc settings for user name and pasword for the access driver, is that supposed to be user login for jodohost or for the database ? If is for the database there is no password because this is simply a test. Can those fields be left blank ? Sorry so many questions. May be time for a trip to the book store!

replace username with your real username
If your username is wyzgy, your DSN name would be:
wyzgy-recordstore

If that doesn't work, let me know

wyzgy said:
Hi Yash, Thanks for your help.