ASP.NET File Paths

RajK

Guppy
Hi,

I'm relatively new to ASP.NET, and I am sure many of you have already
figured this out.

I am trying to create a file, called count.dat in my web folder.
The problem is I cannot get the path right.

If I try to create it using the path: "count.dat" I get an error saying
access to C:\winnt\system32\count.dat is denied!

I can create it using the path: "/count.dat" and it works like it is supposed
to but I have no clue where it got created and cannot find it!

If I use a path like: /username/domain/count.dat it tells me it
cannot find the path in the C: drive!

Any clue anyone can give me about this problem would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Raj

WineIsGood said:
In ASPX in-line script, use "~/count.dat"
In VB code-behind, use Page.ResolveUrl("~/count.dat")

-Dave

Thanks Dave,

That gave me the idea of using the Page.MapPath("") method
to get the physical address of the current directory.

Raj

Would
Server.MapPath("name of file")
be of any help here. That is what I need to use to get my access databases to connect.

KJTFS

kjtfs said:
Would
Server.MapPath("name of file")
be of any help here. That is what I need to use to get my access databases to connect.

KJTFS

Yup, haven't tried it yet, but it seems all the MapPath() methods are derived
from a common Base class.

Raj

RajK said:
Yup, haven't tried it yet, but it seems all the MapPath() methods are derived
from a common Base class.

Raj

I am having a similiar issue...not with not knowing the path of a file to create...but acessing a file that's already created. I try to read an xml from an ASP.NET page, using the following code:

private DataSet CreateDataSource(){
XmlDataDocument mydata = new XmlDataDocument();
mydata.DataSet.ReadXml(Server.MapPath(XMLFilePath));
return mydata.DataSet;
}

The ReadXML File throws in the following error: