Cannot connect to mySql database.

Anybody help?
Cannot connect to mySql database.

Get this message:-

Couldn't connect to database
Database not found
PHP Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user: [email protected]' (Using password: NO)

using this:

<?php

$usr = 'PREFIX_USERNAME';
$pwd = 'PASSWORD';
$db = 'PREFIX_DATABASENAME';
$host = 'mysql.jodoshared.com';

$id = mysql_connect($host);
if(!$id)
{
echo "Couldn't connect to database";
}
mysql_select_db($db) or die('Database not found');

It worked on my local server on Windows PC and can connect to database using EMS MySql Manager.
Any idea's

www.wardead.net

Liam

PS: I am a newbie at PHP/MySql

It is trying to connect as ODBC because you dont call the variables you set earlier in the script:

$usr = 'PREFIX_USERNAME';
$pwd = 'PASSWORD';
$db = 'PREFIX_DATABASENAME';
$host = 'mysql.jodoshared.com';

$id = mysql_connect($host);

See it is failing at the mysql_connect because it is only sending the hostname, not the user, pass or database.

This should help you get that string right:
http://www.php.net/mysql_connect

Hi all,

I have Olate Download 3, first of all it is a very nice, it was working fine...
I have reinstall windows and install The script again, by the first that i put the Database name, password, where the database is. i just press "Continue",
and the page that shows execly:
Code:
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][SIZE="4"][B]Failure[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]
[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]You must correct the error below before installation can continue:[/COLOR]

Database Error: No database selected

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"]Before you try again you will need to delete the tables created by the installer,
which have the prefix "downloads_".[/COLOR]

[URL="javascript: history.go(-1)"]Click here to go back.[/URL]
But the Database works fine, other script wont work either but i can log in the MYSQL and add and remove things...

Alexw