Drupal's cron: Suggestions to make it run?

squidz

Perch
I have been trying to get Drupal's cron maintenance to run for well over a week on a Jodo Linux install. One should be able to set up a crontab that points to the cron.php page/script. It is necessary to keep the system running smoothly.

Does anyone have a solution to work this out? Jodo support, after 6 days, tells me the Linux account cron service can't do it, which seems odd. Why have the feature if it can't run a simple crontab?

Is there anyone out there running Drupal on Jodohost?

I am not a PHP developer but rather a designer with enough tech-savvy to have gotten Drupal and this site about 99% complete. However, cron needs to run for Search and other features to be maintained.

Any guidance will be appreciated.

Linux can work with a cronjob as set from the hsphere CP, it may not work via the directions you have in the install/readme files.

Thanks for the reply Stephen. Sadly, jodo support has left my support ticket unresolved for a week, about 6 days too long, saying "you have to right a function to run the cron.php feature of Drupal." Seems pretty lame that you can't run a simple script via a crontab on a Linux server. I'd moved the whole site from Windows to Linux, primarily for that reason all for nothing.

I finally had to load the third party module "poormanscron" to get it done, but the module has known bugs.

It' hard for me to believe that there isn't anyone on Jodohost using Drupal other than myself...or even someone triggering a php script from a crontab.

squidz, you can set the 'cronjob' on hpshere, using wget to process it.

one such example is here:
http://support.jodohost.com/showthread.php?t=15290&highlight=wget

I was unable to look at the page you linked to...said I didn't have permission. You've gone out on a limb to help, so here's the quick history.

My original test was a sample from a Drupal forum:
*/5 * * * * wget -q -O /dev/null http://www.domain.com/cron.php