Help with VPS

Hello Forum Readers-
Been a while since I have visited this forum... Anyway nice to see you all again. I was presented with a task today that has be a bit baffled. I have used windows plans for every account I have set up. Today I was presented with a task that I believe requires a VPS account. Well I've never set one up before... So I tried. Here's the result. I created the VPS account through my CP. I want to run a service from the VPS that will delivered to the web. The client has a windows account, they would like this service to be available to them via a sub-domain of their primary site. Anyway... That said... Does anyone have any suggestions for connecting to this account. I have never done it before. I, per suggestion, have downloaded a copy of "Putty" for telnet and ssh connections. I think this is how I connect. Any suggestions?

You can point the sub domain to the IP address of your VPS account

Then of course you'll have to deploy that service/program in your VPS account. You can use putty to login to it (use SSH. Your root password is whatever you chose). After that, you'll need to learn a few commands.. Maybe SubSpace can help you...

Was your VPS account activated? Did you get a confirmation email after 30 minutes from the VPS server that your VPS account was initiated? There is a problem on VPS2 where new accounts weren't getting initiated (and hence, you couldn't ping the IP). PSOFT was working on that (i'll have to check the status) but I'm not sure if that is resolved.

Mleh, and I was still waiting for the problem to be fixed :)
As for help with commands, I can try, but I'm not a Linux guru. I run my own server at home for connection sharing and a bunch of other services, and I manage, but that's about it :)

There is one remaining problem, the VPS IPs are not getting assigned to the nic

We are working on this