Just signed up, need some help (coldfusionmx)

jag5311

Perch
HI, well, I just got signed up . GO ME!

I am excited to begin my site implementation here.

I am using Coldfusion MX but I need some help on the placement of certain files. I am very new to Coldfusion, but followed ben forta's WACK book enough to get an ecommerce site together:) Couple questions

1. Do I just upload all my info into the folder called "mydomain.com" (obviously its not called that)? Do I put my access database into a different folder? same folder?

2. If I plan on allowing the owner of this site to maintain it and it will contain a login/pass page for only her, is it recommended that I put any files pertaining to maintainence into another folder. Reason I ask, is because I tried that on my local machine and when I tried running the files, it didn't work, and I didn't know if that was because my database was not in the same folder as the files, or what?

3. The application.cfm goes in the same folder as all the files, right?

Any other information you are able to provide to someone who has never setup a coldfusion site on a host before, please do so:).

I look forward to getting this all setup.

Thanks
Bryan

1) yes, in the mydomain.com folder. You should put your access database in the root folder otherwise it will be publicly accessible
2) Didn't quite understand this question. I guess it depends where this "other folder" will be located
3) Application.cfm goes in the domain folder

Let me know how your setup process goes

Hi Yash, is you are JODOHOST, I saw your post on sitepoint. I think I was the name dropper:)

anyways,

So the root folder is where I will be if I can actually SEE the mydomain.com folder, along with LOGS??? I am using WS_FTP PRO.

When I try uploading my access database, I get an upload error.

I get , FAILED; ERROR 1004.

What format do I need to upload it in?

If the application.cfm is going to be in the domain folder, do I need to alter the line of code of this