non www. redirect to www.domain.com

xscott

Perch
Is there a way to redirect in the CP to 301 redirect to the www version of the domain?

Main issue is Search Engines see the domain with the www and without the www as seperate pages. If outside links point to either version this creates duplicate content in Search Engines.

quick answer of the top of my head would be to make all the links like
"http://site.com/page.htm"

other way would be to remove the www. alias in "DNS Settings" and create a subdomain called "www" then you could add a redirect

Scotty_32 said:
quick answer of the top of my head would be to make all the links like
"http://site.com/page.htm"

other way would be to remove the www. alias in "DNS Settings" and create a subdomain called "www" then you could add a redirect

Is the www vs no www an issue in regards to SEO? I am new to SEO and just didn't realize that it may be a concern.

Thanks

scotty, you dont need ot create a subdomain to do what you say

just delete the dns record for www.domain.com

as there is a wild card (*.yourdomain.com) that will redirect you to the main website as you are wanting.. so anything.yourdomain goes to yourdomain.com

Emagine said:
scotty, you dont need ot create a subdomain to do what you say

just delete the dns record for www.domain.com

as there is a wild card (*.yourdomain.com) that will redirect you to the main website as you are wanting.. so anything.yourdomain goes to yourdomain.com

I want it to go to www.mydomain.com. For CF sites I can do it in the code and on unix/linux/apache site I can do it in .htaccess, but was hoping for a better solution on a windows server in the CP for static sites.

Is the www vs no www an issue in regards to SEO? I am new to SEO and just didn't realize that it may be a concern.