Simple connection to database using Cold Fusion

mike333

Guppy
I am new to cold fusion, What the the correct way to connect to a database using cold fusion?

Using dreamweaver and set up for Cold Fusion looking in the database panel I get stuck on the "specify the RDS login information for Cold Fusion server."

Clicking on that brings up a "Login to ColdFusion Remote Develoment services (RDS)" box looking for a password.

Im lost, can anyone walk me though getting connected ?

Thanks

Mike

mike333 said:
I am new to cold fusion, What the the correct way to connect to a database using cold fusion?

Using dreamweaver and set up for Cold Fusion looking in the database panel I get stuck on the "specify the RDS login information for Cold Fusion server."

Clicking on that brings up a "Login to ColdFusion Remote Develoment services (RDS)" box looking for a password.

Im lost, can anyone walk me though getting connected ?

Thanks

Mike

Unless you're running a personal copy of ColdFusion Server on your local machine, you're not going to be able to connect to the RDS server. If you are then as SC has said you can just plug in you administrator password and connect to it.

Just as a note, it's a good idea to run a local server for development. You can download the evaluation version from Macromedia and when the evaluation expires it changes over to a single-IP version that you can use as a development server. That is the environment Dreamweaver expects.

If that's not what you're asking about, you need to specify the Datasource name, username and password (if you have them) for your datasource.

Hatton

I am a reseller and trying to develop on and connect to a datasource on one of my created accounts on JodoHost. I have a copy of cold fusion running locally, but I am trying to connect to a datasource on the Jodohost server. And I am looking for the (simple) a,b,c's

Thanks again
Mike

Hi Mike,

First,