ASP Database Help

psuchad

Guppy
I am new to asp and am having trouble connecting to an Access database. I have a test page with only the following.

<% Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;
Data Source=D:\hshome\username\databasename.mdb%>

I get the following error:

Microsoft VBScript compilation error '800a0401'

Expected end of statement

/untitled3.asp, line 7

Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;
----------------------------^

Could anyone please help me out? I am also having trouble figuring out how Dreamweaver needs to be configured.

Not to sound rude, but you really need to study up on asp first before embarking on your task. The example you've given lacks the very basics of programming knowledge.. again, not meaning to be rude, but I doubt anyone has time to teach the basics of programming here.

May I suggest a few resources which might start you off:

DevGuru Tutorial - A Beginner's Guide to Using Active Server Pages

and a good basic reference site for the language:

ASP Tutorial

connecting to an Access database and examples:

ASP Connecting To An Access Database

and for more advanced stuff:

4GuysFromRolla.com - Frequently Asked Questions!

I found these just by Googling the relevant topics. Remember Google is your friend! Everything - and I mean everything - you need to know about ASP is there on the net. Just Google your questions and you will find answers.

Being a good developer starts with being able to solve problems. Which, in many cases, means skillful use of Google. :)

hope that helps

Not to be rude to you, but I am not new to programming. I am just new to asp. I have done research on how to connect to an access database. I have even gotten some references when I submitted a ticket for the database path. Those references all tell me to use the above code. And I am getting an error. Therefore I am asking for help.