Movable Type is giving me a headache

I'm new to Movable Type and having a difficult time understanding how to customize the default styles. Here's the questions. I want to change color, font, etc. in the styles.css file (not actual name).

For instance if I was trying to modify the style of the banner tag block, I find the following in the main index file.

<div id="banner">
<div id="banner-inner" class="pkg">
<h1 id="banner-header"><a href="<$MTBlogURL$>" accesskey="1"><$MTBlogName encode_html="1"$></a></h1>
<h2 id="banner-description"><$MTBlogDescription$></h2>
</div>
</div>

I then see #banner, #banner-inner, #banner a, #banner a:hover, etc. in the styles.css

I'm confused. Which one do I edit? Then there are multiple blocks of "#banner" OR "#banner-inner". Do I touch "#banner a" or "#banner a:hover" if they're not referenced in the main index?

I already went to http://www.learningmovabletype.com/...kground_banner_headline_and_font.php#comments but their help is on an older version of MT.

Sorry, but I've been cussing out loud just trying to understand this stuff. It'll be good if there's a FAQ, forum stickie, or at least good sized comments for the blocks of code in both the index and css files. I already scraped Mambo after trying to configure that mahemoth.

Makes me wonder why blogging is always being talked about in the news when its such a ***** configuring any of these Content Management Systems.

I was actually posting this on MT's forum but just as I clicked the submit button, their servers stoped responding :(

Your complaints are pretty easy to understand. But as I look at your situation, and look at a fresh installation of Movable Type, I see that your issues are more with CSS instead of MT itself. However, since I don't want to leave you haning out on a limb, let's talk about a couple of the finer points of the MT layout, and how they intertwine with CSS.

Code:
         <div id="banner">
            <div id="banner-inner" class="pkg">