MYSQL and php

Help please. I am a novice, starting at square one with php.

I just want the simplest set up to connect.

So far, I've got a database going, called 'DaveC42_weight_test', and a php page in my root that has the following code:

$dbcnx = @mysql_connect( "new_sqlserver",<myuserID>,<mypwd>)
mysql_select_db("DaveC42_weight_test",$dbcnx);
$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM 'weight_data'");
printf("Date: %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result,0,"Date"));

Tech support is telling me I don't need a path to the database, and has provided the first line of code (the $dbcnx). They are otherwise tightlipped with help.

I keep getting 'parse error, unexpected T_STRING' in the next line (mysql_select_db)

I could really use some help getting started here.

DaveC426913 said:
Help please. I am a novice, starting at square one with php.

I just want the simplest set up to connect.

So far, I've got a database going, called 'DaveC42_weight_test', and a php page in my root that has the following code:

$dbcnx = @mysql_connect( "new_sqlserver",<myuserID>,<mypwd>)
$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM 'weight_data'");

Tech support is telling me I don't need a path to the database, and has provided the first line of code (the $dbcnx). They are otherwise tightlipped with help.

I keep getting 'parse error, unexpected T_STRING' in the next line (mysql_select_db)

I could really use some help getting started here.

If I'm not mistaken, that should be:

PHP:
$dbcnx = @mysql_connect( "mysql.jodoshared.com",<myuserID>,<mypwd>) or die ('I cannot connect to the database because: ' . mysql_error());

$result = mysql_query("SELECT  * FROM  weight_data");

The Frog said:
If I'm not mistaken, that should be:

PHP:
$dbcnx = @mysql_connect( "mysql.jodoshared.com",<myuserID>,<mypwd>) or die ('I cannot connect to the database because: ' . mysql_error());

$result = mysql_query("SELECT  * FROM  weight_data");

OK, tried that. Got this error: