Search Engine Optimization - is this technique risky?

I've spent quite a while looking for an answer to this question, and haven't been able to find one, so I figure I'll ask here.

First of all, let me say that I KNOW search engine spamming is not only dangerous, but unethical. I am trying to figure out exactly what search engines consider spamming, and what is ok to do. Here's my problem. I designed the website for my web design firm for people to look at and I wrote the text for people to read. However, as a designer, I overlooked the obvious problem that search engine spiders are not human, and therefore cannot understand the meaning of the text, nor can they see the content of the images on my web site.

I know that loading keywords into a paragraph of white text on a white background is bad. I know that loading keywords into the alt tag of a tranparent gif is bad. Those two techniques are common, and now cause for being having your site removed from search engines.

What do search engines know about css? theoretically, I could write a paragraph describing my web site, that is key word rich, but not neccessarily good sales copy, and then place it behind the rest of my page by doing something like this:

<p style="height: 200px;">
We Design, highly efficient, fast loading, intriguing web sites that are meaningful and helpful for the target audience......
</p>

<table style="position: relative; top: -200px; ">
this is where all of my website content will go.
</table>

For those of you that don't write css, all that does is move the main table of my website up 200 pixels to cover up the "boring" paragraph that is rich in keywords.